Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

23 Nov

I don’t have much to say today. It’s Wednesday, I’m exhausted.

Stuffed peppers are simple. I need simple most nights. My work hours aren’t exactly regular.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

Serves 4

Ingredients:

4 large peppers, halved and hollowed

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

2 cups cooked rice (I usually make extra when I am having rice as a side dish earlier in the week)

1 tin chopped tomatoes

1 tin black beans

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1 cup grated cheese

In a large fry pan saute on medium heat the onion and garlic for a few minutes, until soft. Add the rice, tomatoes, black beans and spices and saute for 10 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Arrange the peppers in a baking dish.

Fill each pepper with the rice mixture.

Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and place cheese on top of each pepper. Bake for another 10 minutes.

I’m experimenting with my slow cooker tomorrow. Wish me luck, I most likely need it.

2 Responses to “Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers”

  1. ashleighrains March 1, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Making this tonight…with quinoa. Mmm!

  2. Megan D August 21, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    my husband made these last night, but made them with ground pork, I couldn’t convince him to go veg… they were amazing!

Leave a Reply

