Buffalo Chicken with Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce

17 Jun

I normally am all about cooking from scratch. I rarely use any prepared products. Today this isn’t true. Three words. Frank Red Hot. I am obsessed. It has ingredients I can’t pronounce. I don’t care.

I am going to redeem myself by trying to convince you this is a healthy alternative to going out for chicken wings. These aren’t fried. These aren’t chicken wings.

They will satisfy any chicken wing craving!

Buffalo Chicken

Serves 4

Ingredients:

12 boneless skinless chicken thighs

1 cup of Franks Red Hot, I like the extra hot kind, but original is good too if you don’t want an extra kick.

2 tbsp olive oil

Combine everything in a large bowl, make sure the chicken is entirely coated in Franks Red Hot. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1/2 hour up to 2 hours.

BBQ on medium high heat until cooked through.

Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce

1/2 cup of mayonnaise

1/2 cup of sour cream (or yogurt if you’re watching your waist)

1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese

a dash of Franks Red Hot

5 grinds of black pepper

Combine everything in a bowl and mix. Allow at least 1/2 an hour in the fridge so that the flavours are able to “get acquainted”. This way it will taste nice and blue cheesy.

I actually crave these. I can eat about 6 in one sitting.

All photo credit goes to my sister Annie and her friend Kim. They also get credit for an awesome evening in a kitchen in cabbagetown.

Next time you crave chicken wings give these a shot at home. You won’t be disappointed.

One Response to “Buffalo Chicken with Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce”

  1. Janet September 29, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Well! This claim is a big one. Shall satisfy chicken wing craving? I have long-standing love affair with chicken wings. It’s a craving that has to be satisfied almost immediately. I always go out. Its date night for me. Romantic. But now I am on a tight budget that doesn’t even allow me to go out for wings.

    So we’ll see….. I will report back soon.

Leave a Reply

