Herb Marinated Chicken Kebabs

6 Jun

These are beautiful. If you want to wow your guests I suggest you carry these out to the deck to BBQ. Not only are they beautiful, they taste absolutely amazing!

zucchini ribbons look fancy, but actually aren’t that hard to make. I love doing this dish with both green and yellow zucchinis. Sadly when I was at the food store they only had green, so you aren’t really getting the full effect of how stunning these actually look. Sorry.

This is a very “fresh” tasting dinner (I credit the mint).

I was reading Smitten Kitchen the other day and she was talking about a new cookbook put out called On a Stick. Every single recipe in the entire book is on a stick. Genius! Pure Genius! I must purchase this book.

Without further ado, some food on a stick…..

Herb Marinated Chicken Kebabs (adapted from Jamie Oliver)

Serves 4

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into large chunks for skewering

3/4 cup mint

3/4 cup cilantro (with the stems)

6 green onions, roughly chopped

the zest and juice of one lemon

1/2 cup olive oil

3 cloves of garlic roughly chopped

1 green zucchini

1 yellow zucchini

Before I start – remember to always pre-soak your wooden skewers for at least 30 minutes. Otherwise they will burn. I always forget. I am trying to save you the same nuisance I go through every time. I hope you’re all smarter than I am and actually remember to do this!

In a food processor combine the mint, cilantro, green onions, lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil and garlic. Process until the herbs are the consistency of pesto.

In a large bowl combine the chicken with the herb sauce and marinate for at least two hours in the refrigerator.

Using either a mandoline or a cheese slicer thinly slice the zucchini lengthwise so that you get long thin strips of zucchini.

Start with a zucchini strip and skewer it at the bottom, then place a piece of chicken on the skewer and fold the zucchini over the chicken and skewer it, repeat. You are essentially making an S shape with the zucchini and skewering chicken pieces in the curves. I like to alternate green and yellow. I would show you a photo of that but the stupid food store is behind the times!

BBQ on medium high heat until cooked through.

These taste as good as they look. Thank god!

2 Responses to “Herb Marinated Chicken Kebabs”

  1. Mark McEwan June 7, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    I actually made the Jamie Oliver version of these and was really dissapointed. On presentation alone, yours look much more tempting. This calls for a second attempt.

    For some reason, I could only “read” this post in a feminine version of Jamie’s accent, since I knew you wrote it with one. Can you improve on a Curtis Stone receipe next? I’m killing myself with laughter here. “Ahhh Koonunga Hill … of coooooooooourse.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mayonnaise Free Potato Salad « A Kitchen in Cabbagetown - June 13, 2011

    […] so we can eat it all week. It’s the perfect accompaniment to some fall off the bone ribs, herb marinated chicken kebas, lemon pepper fish kebabs or blue cheese stuffed burgers. Basically, if you BBQ it, throw this on […]

Leave a Reply

