California Salad

2 Jun

I made up the name for this salad. Every time I am in a restaurant and there is a salad with strawberries and goats cheese it is called California salad. I’m trying to be fancy. I didn’t want to call this spinach salad with goats cheese. Bear with me. I promise I will lead you astray!

Normally I am not a huge fan of fruit in my food. Or fruit in general, but that’s probably a discussion for another day. I digress. There was a bit of a grocery shopping crisis at our house a few weeks back and all the fridge contained was strawberries, a box of baby spinach and some left over goats cheese. I think you see where I am headed…..

Since that fateful day I have been making this regularly. Funny b/c this is something I would typically completely avoid. Likely it’s the 7 years straight of rain we’ve had (this may be a slight exaggeration, I’m not sure). I’m craving summery food. CALIFORNIA food (I’ve never been to California…..see, I’m leading you astray already…)

California Salad

Serves 4 as a side dish

Ingredients:

1 box baby spinach

6 strawberries, sliced

1/4 cup goats cheese

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts or toasted sliced almonds (whichever you prefer – if neither you could always use pecans, or any nut you like)

1 shallot, finely sliced

Dressing:

1/4 cup olive oil

1 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 1/2 tsp dijon mustard

Combine the dressing in a cup or glass measuring cup and whisk together.

Combine all the other ingredients in a salad bowl and toss with the dressing.

Buying salad dressing is really a huge waste of money and it’s full of garbage. It takes 2 seconds to make your own – give it a go, you’ll never go back!

On this no-grocery day I picked up a rotisserie chicken at the end of the street, whipped up some oven sweet potato fries (don’t you love how long sweet potatoes can sit on your counter and not go bad), paired it with this salad in and we had a fantastic dinner! Who knew?

Crack a bottle from a California vineyard and pretend. Fake it till ya make it! California will come eventually….

One Response to “California Salad”

  1. Colline June 2, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I really enjoy this salad – refreshing and tasty.

Leave a Reply

