Tabouleh

17 May

The recipes I have been spewing as of late have been a bit heavier. I am going to lighten things up. Easy, quick weeknight food is important to me. Although I have a lot more time to blog on the weekends, when I cook more elaborate food, I am trying to make sure this space is filled with lots of easy and healthy mid-week dinners (that double as lunch the next day).

This keeps in the fridge for a few days, so even if you don’t have time during the week you could always whip it up on a Sunday and enjoy it for a few days.

Without further ado.

Tabouleh

Serves 6

Ingredients:

1 bunch of curly parsley, washed and finely chopped

3/4 cups of bulgur (cooked according to the package directions) – I couldn’t find bulgur for the longest time, so I used quinoa instead. This was great b/c it also added protein.

1/4 cup of fresh mint, finely chopped

2 tomatoes, diced

1/3 of a cucumber, diced

the juice of one lemon

2 tbsp olive oil

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl.

Toss. You’re done. Hard work eh?

This is delicious in a pita with hummus. Or all on its own as a side.

I also love this along side falafel. I haven’t posted my falafel’s yet. I’ll get on that.

2 Responses to “Tabouleh”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    This is one of the reasons I grow mint! Great recipe.

  2. Ashleigh May 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    I just ate dinner but now I’m hungry again!

Leave a Reply

