Greek Potatoes

9 May

I stumbled across this recipe through google. One of my best google search finds EVER! The blog I got this from has become a real regular read of mine. He is great. Also, I know everyone knows my love of Greek food.

So he’s a class act and calls this recipe “patates sto fourno”. I am not as classy and have dumbed it down to Greek Potatoes. Don’t be fooled. It’s perfect!

I have no idea what I googled at the time to lead me to it, but I am so glad I did. These are AMAZING!

I take no credit. Check out this blog. The recipes are drool worthy!

Greek Potatoes (I never do this, b/c I always change recipes, but this one I haven’t touched, so it is not adapted, it is perfect how it is. Straight from souvlakiforthesoul.com.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

4-5 medium sized potatoes (I used white potatoes), washed, dried and cut into wedges

1 tablespoon of dried oregano

juice of 1 lemon

1/2 – 3/4 cup of olive oil

1/4 a cup of water

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Start off by drizzling a very small amount of olive oil on the potatoes.  Proceed to toss them in the oregano along with some salt and pepper.

Place the seasoned potatoes in a shallow baking pan.

In a bowl mix together the remaining olive oil, lemon juice and water.  Pour the mixture in between the gaps created by the potatoes (if you pour these over the potatoes you will wash off the oregano!)

Cook for 45 minutes to 1 hour (check half way through – as it may be necessary to add a little bit more water). Potatoes are cooked when they are pierced with a fork and feel soft and tender and are nice and browned.

I made this for a friend and we went nuts over it. Mark likes to top them with some crumbled feta.

It paired perfectly with Roasted chicken.

Greek food is to die for. These potatoes reinforce that feeling.

Do it! You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

