Roasting a Chicken

8 May

Roast chicken is the most amazing comfort food. The added bonus is your house smells DELICIOUS!!!! It also helps that the outcome is gorgeous is that praise worthy kind of way.

Seriously, how perfect.

Although it does take some time, you are having glasses of chilled white, all the while doing nothing but sipping on it.

Sorry about the photo. I dig ice in my wine. I know, not classy. Watered down wine is my thing.

Anyways, back to the task at hand

Perfectly Roasted Chicken

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 3.5 to 4 lb whole chicken

1 tbsp salt

15 grinds of black pepper

olive oil

1/2 lemon

1/2 a head of garlic

a bunch of fresh thyme, on the stem

Heat your oven to 425 degrees.

If you have bought a chicken with innards, remove them and pitch ’em. Gross. (If I was making gravy I may sing a different tune – but we’re strictly talking roasted chicken here)

Place your chicken in a roasting pan on a rack. stuff the inside with the thyme, half a lemon and a 1/2 a head of garlic (i just slice a head in half and stick ‘er in there). Smother with olive oil salt and pepper and rub so that it is all incorporated.

Once you put your chicken in the oven turn it down to 400 degrees.

Roast for one hour and 20 minutes.Let rest for 10 minutes covered in foil on a carving board. As a disclaimer I am going to suggest that you put a thermometer into the thickest part of the breast until it’s almost, but not quite, touching the breast bone. Chicken is done at 160 degrees. I am not going to counsel you, b/c I don’t want anyone getting food poisoning, but I usually bring it out a slight bit below and let it rest covered in foil (as noted above) to bring it up to temp – I find this ensures juiciness.

If you’re not quite there yet temp-wise, just keep checking it every 10-15 minutes past the hour until it’s at your desired temp.

Regardless, always let it rest for 10 before carving into it. I do let it rest covered so I don’t lose heat.

I will admit, sometimes I use butter instead of olive oil. If I am using butter I use room temperature butter and smear it all over the chicken with salt and pepper. But I find olive oil gives you a crispier skin (sorry, according to my spell check crispier is not a word – fools!). Whatever floats your boat!

Really the only work here is stuffing and coating the chicken in olive oil, salt and pepper. After that its smooth sailing.

Sit back and let people tell you how great of a cook you are. Never reveal that you essentially did nothing.

Also, if you can get your hands on some cranberry sauce and mayo, you will have the BEST sandwich the next day for lunch!

One Response to “Roasting a Chicken”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Greek Potatoes « A Kitchen in Cabbagetown - May 9, 2011

    […] It paired perfectly with Roasted chicken. […]

Leave a Reply

