Moo Shu Pork

8 Apr

Chinese food is a dream come true. Moo Shu Pork is pretty close to perfection. I can’t eat this fast enough – and believe me I try – I am a crazy fast eater. When I make all my food I cook for 4 so that we both always have lunch the next day. With this we make double, simply so we can have 2 servings each – yes, we are disgusting! When this is my lunch, I eat around 9:30 a.m. Patience is a virtue, one that I was not blessed with!


This looks more anemic than it should. I am a moron and forgot to buy green onions. This worked out perfectly for me last week when I realized at the last-minute that I didn’t have green onion. Turns out the green onion gods were looking out for me that day. I had bought some the week before and there was an ENTIRE bunch in the fridge. This week when the EXACT SAME PROBLEM occurred I was not as lucky. No green onion in sight. apparently all green onion karma was gone. Needless to say, these photos are lacking some serious green colour pop. Please imagine how much better it could look.

Moo Shu Pork (adapted from Martha Stewart)

Serves 4

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1 pork tenderloin*, sliced into rounds, and then slice the rounds into strips

2 tbsp cornstarch

1 pound shiitake mushrooms, stemmed and sliced into strips

2 tbsp grated ginger

1/2 head of savoy cabbage, cored and thinly sliced

5 green onions, sliced (yup, I’m a moron)

1/3 cup of soy sauce or tamari (to make this recipe gluten free use tamari)

1/4 cup rice vinegar

Heat a large pan to medium high heat. Spray with cooking oil. Whisk your eggs in a bowl and add them to the pan. Move the pan so that the eggs spread out into a large thin pancake. Cook until cooked through. Slide out of the pan onto the counter. Roll into a log and slice into strips. Set aside.

Coat the pork in cornstarch in a bowl. Heat a large non-stick pan to medium-high heat. Add a splash of grapeseed oil (or canola oil, or any vegetable oil) and saute the pork until cooked through (approximately 10 minutes). Transfer to a separate bowl.

In the same pan saute the mushrooms and ginger until the mushrooms are soft (approximately 5 minutes). Add the cabbage, soy sauce and rice vinegar. Saute for 5 minutes until the cabbage softens slightly. Add the green onions, the eggs strips and the pork. Cook until warmed through. Serve over rice.

* If you aren’t a pork fan, this can be substituted with thinly sliced boneless skinless chicken or turkey.

I got a complaint the other day at work regarding how loud I was eating. I was eating this. I can’t control myself. Help!

Leave a Reply

