Vegetarian Enchiladas

15 Nov

I’ve returned from my transformation from Miss. P to Mrs. T. I didn’t forget about all of you, I just needed some time to get my act together in the wedding department so that I wasn’t showing up nude to a dinner of salteens and waters for 185 of my closest friends and family. Then I needed some time to lie on a beach, eat great food that I didn’t have to cook and drink blueberry mojitos. Ya, you heard that right. Blueberry mojitos. I will now spend countless hours trying to recreate these. Just what I need to be doing with my spare time. Fail.

So veggie enchiladas. I had never eaten an enchilada until i made these. (stay with me). I could not stop talking about them after my first bite. To the point where it was probably pretty annoying to be Mark, who was eating next to me, because I droned on all dinner about how good they were and how did I never know about enchiladas? Ya, the translation is I basically spent the entire dinner patting myself on the back for making such a win. I then proceeded to phone him the next day while I was eating them again for lunch and re-enact the entire self-praise thing over the phone. I’m a real gem.

Vegetarian Enchiladas (adapted from Jessica’s recipe at How Sweet Eats)

Serves 4 very hungry people

Ingredients:

1 onion finely diced

1 red pepper finely diced

1 green pepper finely diced

2 portobello mushroom caps, finely diced

1 cup of frozen corn kernels

1 tins of black beans, drained

2 tins of red enchilada sauce (around here we use the hot kind)

1 tin of refried beans

8 large whole wheat tortillas (or if you prefer to live on the edge you can get white flour tortillas)

a handful of shredded cheese (feel free to be very generous with your handful, you may want to do a few)

In a large pan saute the onion, peppers, mushroom and potato until soft, about 15 to 20 minutes. Add the corn, black beans, 1 tin of the enchilada sauce and the refried beans. Stir to combine and heat through.

Preheat your oven to 350.

Grease a large baking dish. Assemble your enchiladas by placing some filling in a tortilla and rolling it, continue with all 8 tortillas and snuggle them all into the pan side by side.

Cover with the remaining tin of enchilada sauce and then sprinkle the handful of grated cheese over top. Bake for 1/2 an hour.

I like to serve with some sour cream (lie. I typically substitute greek yogurt for sour cream – healthy and tasty) and guacamole.

I’m going to be more of a regular on this little blog of mine. I promise.

5 Responses to “Vegetarian Enchiladas”

  1. Life Begins at Thirty, Right? November 15, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    OMG that looks DELICIOUS!!

  2. dave November 17, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you… Although I couldn’t find enchilada sauce, I made a good version using green Mexican salsa… Added sweet potatoes which was a good touch.

    Way easier than I thought… all you really need is a knife and a can opener.

  3. Megan December 6, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    This was amazing, and I have a strong adversion to portobello mushrooms!! I had the same problem though on finding Enchilada sauce, so I too used Salsa. Any tips on where to find the enchilada sauce??

    • akitchenincabbagetown December 6, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      I buy it from the aisle at the food store that houses all of the mexican ingredients.
      Glad you liked it!
      K

  4. Guy Meloche June 12, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Hello,

    Thanks a lot for sharing, it certainly looks delicious !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

